Rhinehart Recital Hall, Rhinehart Music Center, Purdue University Fort Wayne

Beethoven — Excerpts from Fidelio 
Orion Rapp, oboe
Pavel Morunov, oboe
Campbell MacDonald, clarinet
Cynthia Greider, clarinet
Dennis Fick, bassoon
Anne Devine, bassoon
Megan Shusta, horn
Alex Laskey, horn
Adrian Mann, contrabass

Schumann — Sonata for Violin and Piano No.1, op.105
Johanna Bourkova-Morunov, violin
Alexander Klepach, piano

Bartók — String Quartet No. 1, Sz. 40
Violetta Todorova, violin
David Ling, violin
Derek Reeves, viola
Edward Stevens, cello

Bartók’s first quartet displays the composer’s early interest in Hungarian folk music, and is a musical love letter dedicated to a relationship that never was meant to be. The concert opens with Beethoven’s sparkling wind nonet adaptation of great themes from his only opera.

Series Sponsors